Department of Computer Science
Advisory Board

In 2007, the Department of Computer Science formed an advisory board. Its charge is to help UNI Computer Science leave a legacy in its service to the people of the State of Iowa — to become an extraordinary computer science department.

The charter members of the board have been involved as advisors to the department informally in the past through their involvement with individual faculty members and programs:

Wade Arnold (2011-)
recently of Banno
Cedar Falls, Iowa

Tony Bibbs (2017-)
GForge Group
Des Moines, Iowa

Joseph Breu (2011-)
Planet Labs
San Antonio, Texas

Gary Scholten (2007-)
Principal Financial
Des Moines, Iowa

Rebecca Smith (2017-)
Rockwell Collins
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Fred Zelhart (2007-)
CodaBears, Inc.
Chicago, Illinois

Emeritus members of the board:

Redge Bartholomew (2007-2017)
Rockwell Collins
Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Mark Kittrell (2007-2017)
Prime Logic Partners
Cedar Falls, Iowa

Sharon Thornton Knop (2007-2011)
State Farm
Bloomington, Illinois

Mike Lang (2007-2011)
Alliance Technologies
Des Moines, Iowa

our original home, Wright Hall


About Us

Undergraduate Programs


Faculty & Staff



Advisory Board


Courses and Registration

Student Life

Information for Prospective Students

Other Resources

Department of
Computer Science
305 ITTC
(the old East Gym)
Cedar Falls, Iowa
ph. (319) 273-2618
fax (319) 273-7123

UNI CS on Facebook UNI CS on Twitter

University of Northern Iowa

Diversity Matters


Mark Fienup

As a discipline, computer science is relatively young and characterized by rapid technological advances. This dynamism is reflected in the interests of Mark Fienup, associate professor of computer science: Parallel computing, routing and computer networks, and computer science education are all greatly affected by the changing nature of computer science.... [more]

More Profiles





realtime systems lab

cs education

More Projects

Department of Computer Science